The Final Path

The end of studio is upon us, there have been a lot of things I have learned throughout our process of creating maps for Will to take to his hearing in Virginia on Thursday. I think some of the most important ones were patience and repetition is our friend. Repetition allowed us to try our takes on what the maps should look like and then get feedback from our client and then change the map to resemble more closely what he wanted it to look like. This was a very helpful process because it helped me tune up my Illustrator skills and learn new ways and techniques to do certain tasks that make them a lot easier and less time consuming.

To talk about the final product I think our maps improved a lot even from just our final presentation on the 26th. I think our maps are a lot easier to read and show more of what the main point of our maps was then the unnecessary fillers that were on the maps we had created before. I think this map will be easier for the St. Louis County Board to understand and it will be a lot easier for Will to explain as well. Phase 1

This was the map that we presented at the “final” review. I think this map has a lot of unnecessary clutter that does not add to the content of what needs to be shown. I think the outlines around the buildings that were being built during that phase wasn’t the best choice a lot people got confused by it. I think that having all the buildings on every phase map was not very accurate because half of the buildings on the Phase 1 map weren’t even starting on construction. I think compared to the final maps that we submitted these maps were nowhere where they should have been. All in all this was a great experience to learn about the Steger Wilderness Center and to work with Will.

Thank You!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.